Skip to main content

Best POS for Restaurant Chains in India (2026): 7 Systems Compared

S

By Shashi Mishra, Founder, Restrofi · Last updated:

Quick Answer

There is no single best POS for every chain. For 2 to 12 outlets without a central kitchen, a POS with multi-outlet controls and a published price, such as Restrofi (₹9,999 a month for 5 outlets plus ₹1,499 per extra outlet), is usually enough. Chains that supply outlets from a commissary or need ERP integration should shortlist systems that describe central kitchen and ERP modules on their own sites, such as Petpooja, Restroworks or GoFrugal. Delivery-first brands should look at aggregator middleware such as UrbanPiper.

How we compared these systems

We are Restrofi, one of the seven systems below, so this guide follows strict rules. Every statement about another vendor comes from that vendor's own public website, checked on 9 October 2026, and the page is linked in the sources section at the end. Where a vendor's site did not load, we say so and use named press coverage instead. We do not rate, score or rank other products on opinion, and we do not repeat third-party review scores. We say where Restrofi is not the right fit.

We looked at the six things that decide a chain purchase: a head office view across outlets, central menu control, a central kitchen or stock transfer module, ERP or accounting integration, how billing works when the internet drops, and whether the price is published.

What does a restaurant chain need from a POS?

A single outlet needs a till that bills fast and a kitchen that gets the right ticket. A chain needs that at every outlet, plus a layer on top that a single-outlet POS does not have: one menu and price list that outlets cannot drift from, billing that keeps each outlet's GST registration separate, staff access that stops at the outlet door, and a head office view that reads every outlet's orders without waiting for a closing message.

Beyond that layer, needs split by how the chain is built. A group whose outlets each buy and cook their own food needs strong per-outlet inventory. A group with a commissary needs stock to move from the central kitchen to outlets, which is a supply-chain problem. A group whose finance team closes the books in an accounting system needs sales to flow there. A delivery-first group needs its aggregator menus and orders in one place. No vendor below does all of these equally, so the first step is to decide which of them is yours.

NeedWho it matters toWhat to look for
Central menu and price lockEvery chainWho can edit prices; what a sync overwrites
Per-outlet GST billingMulti-state chains, franchisesGSTIN and invoice series per outlet
Head office reportsEvery chainLive outlet-by-outlet numbers and exports
Central kitchen and transfersCommissary-led chainsIndents, dispatch and receipt between locations
ERP or accounting syncChains with a finance teamNamed integrations, not "API available"
Aggregator syncDelivery-first brandsNamed aggregators, menu and order sync
Offline billingOutlets with unreliable internetWhat keeps billing and what syncs later

The seven systems at a glance

SystemWhat it isChain features its site describesCentral kitchenPublished price
PetpoojaRestaurant POS and operations suiteHead office dashboard with outlet zones, centralised menu, ERP data pushYes, central kitchen moduleYes, per plan (chain price not shown)
RestroworksEnterprise restaurant platform (formerly POSist)Franchise management, menus across locations, supply chain, 500+ integrationsYes, central kitchen softwareNo, estimate on request
UrbanPiperOrdering-channel hub with its own POSHub for ordering channels, Prime POS, stock across outletsNot statedNo, contact sales
LimeTrayCloud POS plus online ordering and CRMIntegrated online and third-party orders; products that talk to each otherNot statedNo, demo on request
GoFrugalRestaurant POS and ERPMulti-outlet management, multi-chain operations, franchise management, ERPYes, central kitchen managementNo, demo or trial on request
TorqusRestaurant POS for chainsPOS, Head Office and Supply Chain Management modules (press)Described in press coverageSite did not load
RestrofiBrowser-based restaurant POSMenu sync, per-outlet GSTIN, custom roles (up to 27 permissions), group analyticsNoYes, ₹699/outlet/month or ₹9,999/month for 5 outlets

Petpooja

Petpooja's chain POS page describes a head office dashboard that monitors every outlet on one screen, with outlets grouped into zones by region, state, city, brand or channel. It describes centralised menu management for both in-store menus and online aggregators, a central kitchen module that supplies raw or semi-cooked items to outlets with low-stock alerts and a consolidated route plan, and a data lake that pushes sales, inventory and customer data to ERPs such as Tally, SAP and Dynamics NAV.

For offline operation, Petpooja's POS Local article (updated 9 July 2026) says a group can run up to 50 outlets on one owned system, with a dedicated computer running its Bridge Server on the local network. Its pricing page lists a Base Plan at ₹12,000, Operations Manager plans at ₹20,000 and ₹30,000, and Marketing Manager plans from ₹20,000, before tax; the chain page itself shows no chain price.

Fits: growing and large chains that run a central kitchen or need ERP integration. A detailed comparison is at Restrofi vs Petpooja.

Restroworks (formerly POSist)

Restroworks describes itself as trusted by 25,000+ restaurants globally and lists over 500 integrations. Its site has dedicated pages for central kitchen software ("to optimize operations"), restaurant supply chain software, franchise management ("one solution for multiple regions and outlets") and menu management across all locations.

Its pricing page publishes no figures. It offers an estimate and says pricing depends on the software modules chosen, the scale of the restaurant and terminal count, with hardware available through partners.

Fits: large multi-region chains and franchise groups that want an enterprise implementation and a broad integration marketplace. See Restrofi vs Restroworks.

UrbanPiper

UrbanPiper's homepage presents three products: Hub, which manages food ordering channels from an existing POS; Orderline AI for calls, reservations and orders; and Meraki for self-branded ordering websites and apps. It names integrations with Swiggy, Zomato, Uber Eats and Talabat, promotes its own Prime POS for in-store and online operations, says you can manage stock across all outlets in real time, and describes itself as trusted by 40,000+ restaurants globally. Pricing is through sales.

Fits: delivery-first brands selling on several aggregators that need channel and menu sync. See Restrofi vs UrbanPiper.

LimeTray

LimeTray's site describes a cloud-based POS with integrated online and third-party orders, alongside online ordering, a restaurant CRM, analytics and integrations, and says all its products talk to each other. Its homepage does not describe multi-outlet, central kitchen or inventory features, and it publishes no prices; it offers a demo.

Fits: brands that want online ordering, CRM and POS from one vendor. See Restrofi vs LimeTray.

GoFrugal

GoFrugal's restaurant page lists central kitchen management, multi-outlet restaurant management, multi-chain operations and franchise management, and refers to its restaurant ERP software. It offers an on-premises option described as working without an internet connection, and an app it says also works offline. It publishes no price and offers a trial and demos.

Fits: chains that want a POS and ERP from one vendor, including on-premises deployment. See Restrofi vs GoFrugal.

Torqus

Torqus's own website (torqus.com) did not resolve when we checked on 9 October 2026, so we rely on named press coverage. A 2015 YourStory profile describes Torqus as moving from a single-outlet POS towards chains, mostly quick-service restaurants with central kitchens, with POS, Head Office and Supply Chain Management products. The News Minute reported that Dineout acquired Torqus. Check current features and pricing with the vendor directly.

Fits, per that coverage: QSR chains with a central kitchen. See Restrofi vs Torqus.

Restrofi

Restrofi is a browser-based restaurant POS for India. For chains it offers menu sync from a primary outlet to one or all outlets (owner-only price edits), a GSTIN, FSSAI number and invoice series per outlet, staff scoped to one outlet or a chosen set with custom roles from up to 27 permissions, group and per-outlet analytics with CSV export, chain-wide loyalty and a payment gateway per outlet. Each outlet can bill through an internet outage on the Restrofi Connect desktop app: it keeps the menu, tables and settings on the billing PC, prints KOTs and provisional receipts, and syncs every order exactly once when the connection returns; the GST tax invoice is raised at that sync.

Restrofi publishes its prices: Premium is ₹699 per outlet per month for 1 to 5 outlets; Chain is ₹9,999 a month for 5 outlets plus ₹1,499 per extra outlet, up to 12.

OutletsChain monthlyChain yearlyPer outlet per day
6 outlets₹11,498 a month₹1,14,980 a yearabout ₹64 (monthly) or ₹53 (yearly)
8 outlets₹14,496 a month₹1,44,960 a yearabout ₹60 (monthly) or ₹50 (yearly)
12 outlets₹20,492 a month₹2,04,920 a yearabout ₹57 (monthly) or ₹47 (yearly)

What Restrofi does not do:

  • Central kitchen management and stock transfers between outlets
  • ERP, Tally or SAP integration
  • Zomato and Swiggy order sync
  • A franchise royalty or fee-billing module

Fits: groups of 2 to 12 outlets without a commissary that want published pricing and quick rollout. See Restrofi for chains and the Chain plan.

Which vendors publish their price?

Price transparency matters more for a chain than for a single outlet, because the number that hurts is the cost of outlet nine, ten and eleven, not outlet one. This is what each vendor's site showed when we checked:

VendorPrice on its siteHow pricing works, per its site
PetpoojaYes, per planBase Plan ₹12,000, Operations Manager ₹20,000–₹30,000, before tax; marked indicative
RestroworksNoEstimate based on modules, restaurant scale, terminals and hardware
UrbanPiperNoContact sales
LimeTrayNoDemo on request
GoFrugalNoDemo or trial on request
TorqusSite did not loadNot checked
RestrofiYes, per outlet₹699/outlet/month (1–5); ₹9,999/month for 5 + ₹1,499/extra outlet

A quoted price is not a worse price; enterprise suites with many modules often quote because the scope varies. But a published price lets you model year two and outlet twelve before the first call.

Who should pick what?

If your group…Shortlist
Runs a central kitchen that supplies outletsPetpooja, Restroworks, GoFrugal (each describes a central kitchen module)
Must post sales to Tally, SAP or an ERPPetpooja (ERP data push), GoFrugal (restaurant ERP)
Sells mostly through Swiggy, Zomato and other aggregatorsUrbanPiper (ordering-channel hub), Petpooja (aggregator menus)
Wants online ordering, CRM and POS from one vendorLimeTray
Wants an enterprise implementation and a large integration marketplaceRestroworks (500+ integrations listed)
Has 2 to 12 outlets, no commissary, and wants a published priceRestrofi

How to choose: five checks before you sign

  • Ask for the price at your outlet count and at your outlet count plus four, in writing
  • Ask exactly what menu sync overwrites at an outlet, and who can change prices
  • Ask whether each outlet invoices under its own GSTIN and invoice series
  • Pull the internet cable at a demo till and bill a table
  • Ask for a data export of a sample month before you commit

For a fuller checklist with our own answers, read the restaurant chain management software guide; for franchise-specific control, read franchise restaurant software.

Sources

  • Petpooja chain POS page: https://www.petpooja.com/large-chain-restaurant-pos-software
  • Petpooja POS Local article: https://blog.petpooja.com/industry-business-guides/run-multiple-outlets-one-pos-local-system/
  • Petpooja pricing: https://www.petpooja.com/pricing
  • Restroworks: https://www.restroworks.com/ and https://www.restroworks.com/pricing
  • Restroworks central kitchen: https://www.restroworks.com/central-kitchen-management-software/
  • Restroworks franchise: https://www.restroworks.com/restaurant-franchise-management-software/
  • UrbanPiper: https://www.urbanpiper.com/
  • LimeTray: https://limetray.com/ and https://limetray.com/restaurant-pos
  • GoFrugal restaurant: https://www.gofrugal.com/restaurant/
  • Torqus (YourStory, 2015): https://yourstory.com/2015/06/torqus
  • Torqus acquisition (The News Minute): https://www.thenewsminute.com/atom/dineout-acquires-cloud-based-point-sale-system-restaurants-torqus-92306
  • All checked 9 October 2026. Vendors change features and prices; confirm with each vendor.

Frequently asked questions

Which POS is best for a restaurant chain in India?

It depends on outlet count and operations. For 2 to 12 outlets without a central kitchen, a POS with multi-outlet controls and a published price, such as Restrofi, is usually enough. Chains with a commissary or ERP requirements should shortlist systems whose own sites describe those modules, such as Petpooja, Restroworks or GoFrugal.

Which restaurant POS systems have a central kitchen module?

On their own websites, Petpooja, Restroworks and GoFrugal each describe a central kitchen module, and press coverage describes Torqus's supply chain product for chains with central kitchens. Restrofi does not have one.

Which chain POS systems publish their prices?

Petpooja publishes per-plan prices on its pricing page, and Restrofi publishes per-outlet and Chain prices (₹9,999 a month for 5 outlets plus ₹1,499 per extra outlet). Restroworks, UrbanPiper, LimeTray and GoFrugal ask you to contact them for a price.

Can a chain POS work without the internet?

Several can. Petpooja describes POS Local on a dedicated local server, GoFrugal describes an on-premises option, and each outlet can bill through an internet outage on the Restrofi Connect desktop app: it keeps the menu, tables and settings on the billing PC, prints KOTs and provisional receipts, and syncs every order exactly once when the connection returns; the GST tax invoice is raised at that sync.

Which POS integrates with Zomato and Swiggy for chains?

UrbanPiper names Swiggy and Zomato among its integrations, and Petpooja describes central menu management for online aggregators. Restrofi does not sync Zomato or Swiggy orders.

Do I need an ERP for a restaurant chain?

Only if your finance team needs sales posted automatically to an accounting system, or you run a central kitchen with stock moving between locations. Many chains below twelve outlets manage with POS reports and CSV exports.

Is a cloud POS or a local-server POS better for a chain?

Cloud systems give head office live numbers from every outlet without a server at each site; local-server systems keep billing on the outlet's own network. Many chains want both: cloud reporting with a till that keeps billing offline. Check what each vendor's offline mode keeps working and how it syncs.

What is the cheapest POS for a restaurant chain in India?

On published prices, Restrofi Premium is ₹699 per outlet per month for up to 5 outlets, and Chain is ₹9,999 a month for 5 outlets plus ₹1,499 per extra outlet. Most other chain vendors quote, so compare written quotes at your outlet count.

How was this comparison made?

Each vendor statement comes from that vendor's own public website, checked 9 October 2026, except Torqus, whose site did not load and which is described from named press coverage. Restrofi wrote this guide and is one of the seven systems compared.

S

Shashi Mishra

Founder, Restrofi

Shashi Mishra is the founder of Restrofi, a zero-commission QR ordering and restaurant POS platform used by 500+ outlets across India. He writes about restaurant technology, aggregator economics and GST-compliant operations.

Zero commission. From ₹699/outlet/month.

QR ordering, KDS, GST invoicing, and RestroAI analytics. No hardware, no per-order fees.